Ulster ‘A’ team selected for Munster trip

Ulster ‘A’ team selected for Munster trip

18 days ago

Match Previews

The Ulster ‘A’ team to face Munster at the University of Limerick on Friday has been named.

David McCann will skipper the Ulster side and is named at Number Eight alongside Reuben Crothers at openside and James McNabney at blindside flanker. Harry Sheridan and Cormac Izuchukwu will pair up in the engine room. Callum Reid and Scott Wilson will pack down at loosehead and tighthead props, with James McCormick named at hooker.

In the back three, City of Armagh’s Shea O’Brien is selected at full-back with Aaron Sexton and Conor Rankin on the wings. Ben Carson and Angus Curtis will form the centre partnership while Conor McKee and James Humphreys make up an all-Queen’s University half-back pairing.  

Jack Boal, George Saunderson, Joe Charles, Adam McNamee and Paddy Browne will offer forward cover, while James Wright, Ethan Graham and Reece Malone will provide back line reinforcements from the bench.

Ulster ‘A’ team to play Munster, Friday 6 May at University of Limerick, 3.15pm kick-off:

(15-9) Shea O’Brien (City of Armagh), Conor Rankin (Ballynahinch), Angus Curtis (Malone), Ben Carson (Banbridge), Aaron Sexton (Malone), James Humphreys (Queen’s University), Conor McKee (Queen’s University);

(1-8) Callum Reid (Banbridge), James McCormick (Ballymena), Scott Wilson (Queen’s University), Harry Sheridan (Trinity College), Cormac Izuchukwu (Ballynahinch), James McNabney (Ballymena), Reuben Crothers (Ballynahinch), David McCann (Banbridge) (Capt.).

Replacements: Jack Boal (Belfast Harlequins), George Saunderson (Queen’s University), Joe Charles (Ballynahinch), Adam McNamee (Malone), Paddy Browne (Ballymena), James Wright (Ballymena), Ethan Graham (Monaghan / Belfast Met), Reece Malone (Loughborough University/IQ Rugby).

Club partners