Ulster beat Munster in U20 Men's Development contest

Ulster beat Munster in U20 Men's Development contest

8 days ago


Ulster's U20 Men's Development side beat their Munster counterparts 17-15 on Friday afternoon in a warm-up fixture in Belfast.

An exciting squad made up of U19 and U20 players ran in 3 tries at Newforge as they continued to build momentum ahead of the upcoming interprovincial series of fixtures.

It was Munster who opened the scoring as their backs combined well in the opening minutes to break the deadlock.

Ulster hit back quickly though, as a flowing move involving Rory Telfer and James Girvan was finished well in the corner by winger Ethan Graham.

The visitors then pulled ahead through an intercept try before further extending their lead when their forwards drove over to score.

Trailing 5-15, Ulster responded through Zac Solomon, the hooker scoring after a well-worked lineout maul to narrow the gap down to just 5 points.

That set the stage for number 8 Bryn Ward to break from the base of the scrum and drive over to draw his side level.

Replacement out-half Zach Quirke knocked over the conversion to give Ulster the lead for the first time in the game, and it proved to be decisive as they held on for the win.

Ulster U20 Development Squad vs Munster, Friday 5 August 2022

1. Cameron Doak (Wallace High School/Belfast Harlequins RFC)

2. Zac Solomon (Campbell College Belfast)

3. Joe Mawhinney (Ballymena RFC)

4. Conor Neary (IQ Rugby/Queen’s University RFC)

5. Paddy Browne (Ballymena RFC)

6. Joe Hopes (Campbell College Belfast/Queen’s University RFC)

7. Mark Lee (Rainey Old Boys RFC)

8. Bryn Ward (Royal Belfast Academical Institution)

9. Jonny McCracken (Campbell College Belfast/club TBC)

10. Reece Malone (Loughborough University/ Ballynahinch RFC)

11. Ethan Graham (Ballynahinch RFC)

12. Rory Ellerby (Royal Belfast Academical Institution)

13. James Girvan (Royal School Dungannon/club TBC)

14. Sam Cunningham (Royal School Armagh/club TBC)

15. Rory Telfer (Coleraine Grammar School/Queen’s University RFC)

16. Reece Braden (Omagh Academy/club TBC)

17. Jacob Oliver (Cambridge House)

18. Jacob Boyd (Royal Belfast Academical Institution)

19. Adam Montgomery (Rainey Endowed School/Rainey Old Boys RFC)

20. Ollie McAuley (Campbell College Belfast/club TBC)

21. David Kehoe (Banbridge RFC)

22. Zach Quirke (Blackrock College)

23. Matty Booth (Campbell College Belfast)

24. Ben Gibson (Bangor Grammar School/club TBC)

25. Michael Burnette (City of Armagh RFC)

26. Lukas Kenny (Campbell College Belfast)

27. Ben McFarlane (Methodist College Belfast)

28. Jamie Matthews (Omagh Academy/Omagh RFC)

29. Cameron Faith (Campbell College Belfast)

30. Henry Boyle (IQ)

Club partners