Ulster squad confirmed to host Cell C Sharks

Ulster squad confirmed to host Cell C Sharks

last month

Match Previews

The Ulster Rugby coaching team has selected the final match-day squad of the regular URC season to face Cell C Sharks at Kingspan Stadium on Friday (7.35pm kick-off).

Tickets for this game are available to purchase here.

The starting front row sees one change from Ulster’s recent victory over Edinburgh in Round 17. Andrew Warwick takes up the loosehead prop position, with Tom O’Toole coming in at tighthead. Rob Herring is named at hooker. Iain Henderson will lead the Ulster men from the second row and will partner Alan O’Connor who returns to the starting line-up. Marcus Rea is selected at blindside flanker with Nick Timoney given the nod at openside. Duane Vermeulen completes the pack at Number Eight.

Mike Lowry, Rob Baloucoune and Ethan McIlroy will form the starting back three. Stuart McCloskey has recovered from injury to partner James Hume in the centre. Scrum-half, John Cooney, will be one cap away from 100 Ulster appearances on Friday as he is named to partner Billy Burns at out-half. 

John Andrew, Eric O’Sullivan, Gareth Milasinovich, Kieran Treadwell and Matty Rea are named among the forward replacements. Nathan Doak, Stewart Moore and Rob Lyttle will provide the back line reinforcements.

Ulster team to play Cell C Sharks, United Rugby Championship Round 18, Friday 20 May at Kingspan Stadium, 7.35pm kick-off, live on BBC NI, SuperSport, Premier Sports, TG4 & URC TV:

(15-9) Mike Lowry, Rob Baloucoune, James Hume, Stuart McCloskey, Ethan McIlroy, Billy Burns, John Cooney;

(1-8) Andrew Warwick, Rob Herring, Tom O’Toole, Alan O’Connor, Iain Henderson (Capt.), Marcus Rea, Nick Timoney, Duane Vermeulen.

Replacements: John Andrew, Eric O’Sullivan, Gareth Milasinovich, Kieran Treadwell, Matty Rea, Nathan Doak, Stewart Moore, Rob Lyttle.

The Opposition

Don't miss out on the final regular home game of the season!

Club partners